homemadebynatasha (and Becca) – CAKE

Food & Drink

Hands down the best cakes I have ever made. Even though I do say so myself.

IMG_8693 copy

I volunteered to make Mum’s birthday cake this year so tried to excel myself with a helping hand from my pro-baker housemate, Becca. Raspberries and white chocolate – two of my favourite things. Starting with cupcakes, I got carried away and soon found myself with far too much mixture and making a large cake, too.

Putting raspberries in the cake mixture made the cakes beautifully light and moist. And taste incredible!

IMG_8701 1100

To make the large cake slightly different to the cupcakes I made a white chocolate ganache to decorate, and then covered the top with raspberries. The photos below give you an idea of the mess made in the process!

Grating white chocolate on the top covered any imperfections and helped add even more yumminess.

IMG_8735 copy

It’s safe to say the feedback was all positive, and I haven’t made the cake since, purely to avoid eating it all!

Here is a little taster of the recipe I used.

White chocolate ganache (thanks Mary Berry)

Classic victoria sponge

  • 200g caster sugar
  • 200g butter
  • 5 eggs (gives a better rise!)
  • 200g self-raising flour
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 2tbs milk
  • 200g raspberries, halved
  • Raspberry jam for filling

White chocolate butter icing

  • 200g white chocolate
  • 280g unsalted butter
  • 280g icing sugar
  • splash of vanilla extract

Enjoy! xx

Leave a Reply

